PIYO Review

I should have done this before! This being, I should have reviewed my completed fitness endeavors on here. I’ve completed three different Beachbody programs now (P90x, P90x2, & now PIYO). I’ve also done P90x twice. Also, when I say I completed the program, I mean, I completed it in its entirety, not just a few workouts. I’m a little Type A, what can I say…

Back to PIYO.

9 months preggo vs. mid-PIYO

9 months preggo vs. mid-PIYO

The OLD me, AKA, the one who has ran a marathon and completed P90x twice would not have liked PIYO. I liked grit and tough. I’m not saying PIYO wasn’t tough. In fact, it kicked my butt the first week or two.

PROS:

1) Breastfeeding and new mama friendly. With this I mean, low impact (read: friendly to the boobs). This leads me to my next point:

2) Time efficient. Workouts average 30 minutes. There’s a few shorter ones, and there is one about 50 minutes.

PIYO abs

PIYO abs

3) Good for bad backs. I never thought I’d find myself in the bad back group, but lugging around a car seat, breast pump, diaper bag, groceries, and possibly a laptop for work or 70 pound lab really takes its toll. The stretches and moves really address the core to support the back, and sometimes up-dog was like a personal chiro adjustment.

4) You need no equipment & get a total body workout. Points for originality on several of the moves. Some moves were unconventional and fresh.

CONS:

1) Very girly. Very dancy. This might be a pro for some, & I’m not trying to gender stereotype; therefore, I will quote my husband instead who said, “I wouldn’t be caught dead doing these workouts.”

2) I have a  love-hate with 6-day a week programs. I like the results, but at times it’s body fatiguing and frankly hard to get in although I succeeded (see above point 2).

3) I found a lot of the moves and workouts repetitive (this does contrast my last PRO above). I get that it’s building on itself, but we did a lot of lunges, squats, and push-ups, and we did them in multiple workouts. I get that there are only so many moves and only so many more that you can do in your home, but c’mon, excite me a little!

4) Why was I doing push-ups during my cool-down? This was probably my biggest complaint, and it’s petty. However, I don’t care. I would rather have done the same amount of push-ups earlier in the workout. During the cool-down, I expect to relax and stretch and dangit, anytime I do yoga I expect savasana pose, even if it is a pilates-yoga hybrid. Where was my savasana?

MIDDLE GROUND/RANDOM:

1) I’m not sure how I feel about Chalene. Her spunk, her fitness while being a mom, and her success are all inspiring. I guess I’m just not sure. Two of my BFFs LOVE her and think she is amazeballs. I was just so-so. Hmm.

A fun selfie. I normally hate selfies, but was modeling my cute new clothes for a friend (that PIYO MADE me go out and buy), & I happened to really like my arms in it.

A fun selfie. I normally hate selfies, but was modeling my cute new clothes for a friend (that PIYO MADE me go out and buy), & I happened to really like my arms in it.

2) For me personally, I thought I had “good” results. Actually, probably as good as I could have with all things on my plate. That being said, I still have an image of my p90x body in my head, which is why I put this here.

3) I was always a little jealous of the cute workout clothes they had.

4) Anyone else ever wish the modifier actually looked like they were or needed a modifier instead of being a fit person looking uncomfortable as they modify their normal workout?

Plug: I’m technically a Beachbody “coach”. Don’t think I’m trying to sell you something here. I don’t work the biz, but do it for my own discounts. However, by all means, if you want a coach, I’ll be your gal. I think I’ve completed more of their programs than many of their big wig coaches, and I have loved using many of their products.

I’ll let each person draw their own conclusion or ask questions, rather than summarize. My bottom line: I was glad I did it.

Pre-PIYO and Post-PIYO (sorry for the bad lighting, I'm not attempting some trick of the lighting. I was in a hurry and am not photographically inclined)

Pre-PIYO and Post-PIYO (sorry for the bad lighting, I’m not attempting some trick of the lighting. I was in a hurry and am not photographically inclined)

Last but not least. My free shirt for submitting my results. Except, they goofed and sent the wrong shirt. Bummer, because I heard the PIYO tanks were cute! Too busy to try again though!

Last but not least: my free shirt for submitting my results. Except, they goofed and sent the wrong shirt. Bummer, because I heard the PIYO tanks were cute! Too busy to try again though!

Leave a Reply

