Freezer Meals

The importance of freezer meals cannot be overstated.

My little bundle of joy

My little bundle of joy.

This probably isn’t your typical first post-baby blog, but it might be the shortest. It’s just what’s on my mind today, plus I don’t have time for a longer one (thank-yous to write, the time-bomb sleeping peacefully, dishes on the counter, etc.).

My message is to all the pregnant mamas-to-be out there. Do yourself a favor and make meals ahead. I read in some book, blog, or somewhere not to envision yourself apron on, baby in one arm, cooking at the stove, ready to greet your man as he comes home from work. The reality is that you’ll barely be able to get the meal into the stove or into the crockpot.

Various body parts hurt, you’re sleep deprived, and even if you don’t have a baby that fusses (like me, I’ve been pretty lucky), you’ll still not want to cook. I’m over five weeks out, and I still haven’t sat down to cook a meal. Wonderful, amazing, beautiful church ladies supplied me with about 2-3 weeks worth of food/leftovers, we have gone out to eat twice, my husband has “cooked” twice (tacos once & chicken nuggets with frozen vegetables the other time). The rest of our intake has been due to the freezer meals I prepped as well as their leftovers.

Trust me, the food is important for all that breast milk you’ll need to be brewing.

Here are some of the recipes I used. I think I had made all before so I had my own “tweaks” written down. If interested, leave me a comment, and I’ll try to remember!

  1. Creamy Slow Cooker Tortellini Soup: http://myfavoritethings-miranda.blogspot.com/2012/03/creamy-slow-cooker-tortellini-soup.html
  2. Crock Pot Chicken Teriyaki: http://pinterest-food2.blogspot.jp/2013/01/healthy-foods_30.html
  3. Crock Pot Chicken Chili: http://www.budgetsavvydiva.com/2012/03/crock-pot-chicken-chili-recipe/
  4. Turkey Potpies: http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/turkey-potpies?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed:+taste-of-home+(Taste+of+Home)&utm_content=Google+Reader
  5. Cheeseburger Soup: http://therecipecritic.com/2012/12/cheeseburger-soup/
  6. Kale and White Bean Soup: http://www.thedailymeal.com/kale-and-white-bean-soup-recipe-0 (I add chicken)
  7. Slow Cooker Chicken Tikka Masala: http://www.smells-like-home.com/2011/11/slow-cooker-chicken-tikka-masala/ (It’s different, but strangely my picky husband says he likes it).
  8. Slow Cooker Recipe for Pork Sirloin Roast with Spicy Peanut Sauce: http://www.kalynskitchen.com/2012/03/slow-cooker-recipe-for-pork-sirloin.html (I put potatoes & carrots off to the side for a complete meal).
  9. Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff I: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/slow-cooker-beef-stroganoff-i/detail.aspx
  10. Slow Cooker Beef Stew: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/slow-cooker-beef-stew/detail.aspx

Current Read:

First Family Picture

First Family Picture

The Happiest Baby on the Block by Harvey Karp, M.D.

This book is golden, and I recommend new-mamas to be read it just prior to giving birth so the info is fresh in your mind because it’s hard to read after delivery.

Basically, Dr. Karp goes through a history of colic, its cause (the missing 4th¬†trimester),¬†and its remedies while teaching parents the 5 S’s:

1) Swaddle

2) Side/Stomach

3) Shhhhing!

4) Swinging

5) Sucking